Webinar details

Please find below the details on the coming webinars on "VIX, derivatives and possible manipulations", during which we will place the VIX event of February 5th and its root causes in the long-term trends impacting the financial markets.

The following topics will be addressed:

  • Volatility and options. How to define a single implied volatility for the S&P 500.
  • Benchmark manipulations: there's a fine line between 'manipulation' and 'hedging'.
  • Manipulations of the VIX on futures expiry dates.
  • The thirst for quantitative strategies.
  • How to construct bear instruments - reverse ETFs/ETNs.
  • XIV and SVXY – reverse ETPs on the VIX.
  • The events of February 5th, 2018.
  • Current outcomes and legal matters of interest.

The webinar will take place on the following two dates:

  • Thursday July 19th, 2018 at 11:00 AM EST (8:00 AM PDT, 10:00 AM CDT)
  • and Wednesday July 25th, 2018 at 2:00 PM EST (11:00 AM PDT, 1:00 PM CDT).
To access the open-access webinar, click this link
The presentations last about 50 minutes, followed with a live Q&A. 

Public appearances

Articles